Cinema Eye Honors: Mass Incarceration Doc 'Time' Leads Field With 6 Noms

By Scott Feinberg

Netflix leads all content providers with 13 noms, but, surprisingly, only one of them is for presumptive Oscar frontrunner 'Crip Camp.'

Time, Garrett Bradley's portrait of the impact of a Black family torn apart by a questionably long prison sentence, scored a field-leading six nominations for the 14th Cinema Eye Honors, the documentary-celebrating organization announced Thursday, among them one for best feature film.

Joining the Amazon title in the best feature film category: Boys State (Apple TV+), Collective (Magnolia/Participant), Dick Johnson Is Dead (Netflix) and Gunda (Neon).

Cinema Eye previously announced a first wave of nominations in November. This year's Cinema Eye Honors winners will be announced during a virtual event on Tuesday, March 9, 2021.

Collective, Gunda and Welcome to Chechnya (HBO) landed four noms each, while Boys State, Dick Johnson Is Dead, I'll Be Gone in the Dark (HBO), Notturno (still seeking U.S. distribution) and The Truffle Hunters (Sony Classics) each snagged three.

Netflix leads all content providers with 13 noms, although, rather surprisingly, the streamer's presumptive Oscar frontrunner Crip Camp was included only in the audience choice category, where it will compete against I Am Greta (Hulu), John Lewis: Good Trouble (Magnolia/Participant), The Mole Agent (Gravitas Ventures), My Octopus Teacher (Netflix) and The Social Dilemma (Netflix).

Below is a full list of the nominees.

Outstanding Nonfiction Feature
Boys State - Directed and Produced by Amanda McBaine and Jesse Moss
Collective - Directed and Produced by Alexander Nanau - Produced by Blanca Oana, Bernard Michaud and Hanna Kastelicová
Dick Johnson is Dead - Directed by Kirsten Johnson - Produced by Katy Chevigny and Marilyn Ness
Gunda - Directed by Victor Kossakovsky - Produced by Anita Rehoff Larsen
Time - Directed and Produced by Garrett Bradley - Produced by Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn

Outstanding Direction
Collective - Alexander Nanau
Dick Johnson is Dead - Kirsten Johnson
Gunda - Victor Kossakovsky
Notturno - Gianfranco Rosi
Time - Garrett Bradley

Outstanding Editing
Boys State - Jeff Gilbert
City Hall - Frederick Wiseman
Collective - Dana Bunescu, George Cragg and Alexander Nanau
Gunda - Victor Kossakovsky
MLK/FBI - Laura Tomaselli
Time - Gabriel Rhodes

Outstanding Production
76 Days - Hao Wu and Jean Tsien
Collective - Alexander Nanau, Bianca Oana, Bernard Michaud and Hanna Lastelicová
The Dissident - Bryan Fogel, Thor Halvorssen, Mark Monroe and Jake Swantko
Notturno - Donatella Palermo, Camille Laemmle, Serge Lalou, Orwa Nyrabia and Eva-Maria Weerts
A Thousand Cuts - Ramona S. Diaz, Leah Marino, Julie Goldman, Christopher Clements and Carolyn Hepburm
Welcome to Chechnya - Alice Henty, Askold Kurov and Joy Tomchin

Outstanding Cinematography
Gunda - Erik Haskjold Lersen and Victor Kossokovsky
My Octopus Teacher - Roger Horrocks
Notturno - Gianfranco Rosi
Stray - Elizabeth Lo
The Truffle Hunters - Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw

Outstanding Original Score
Bloody Nose, Empty Pockets - Casey Wayne McAllister
Bulletproof - Troy Herion
The Mole Agent - Vincent Van Warmerdam
The Reason I Jump - Nainita Desai
Time - Jamieson Shaw and Edwin Montgomery
The Truffle Hunters - Ed Côrtez

Outstanding Graphic Design or Animation
Coded Bias - Zachary Ludescher
Feels Good Man - Jenna Caravello and Arthur Jones
My Psychedelic Love Story - Jeremy Landman
Slay the Dragon - Andy Cahill
The Social Dilemma - Simon Barker, Matthew Poliquin, Matt Schultz and Shawna Schultz

Outstanding Debut
Feels Good Man - Directed by Arthur Jones
Mr Soul! - Directed by Melissa Haizlip
Softie - Directed by Sam Soko
Some Kind of Heaven - Directed by Lance Oppenheim
Stray - Directed by Elizabeth Lo
Time - Directed by Garrett Bradley

Outstanding Nonfiction Short
Huntsville Station - Directed by Chris Filippone and Jamie Meltzer
John Was Trying to Contact Aliens - Directed by Matthew Killip
A Love Song for Latasha - Directed by Sophia Nahli Allison
See You Next Time - Directed by Crystal Kayiza
Then comes the evening - Directed by Maja Novakovic

Audience Choice Prize
Boys State - Directed by Amanda McBaine and Jesse Moss
Crip Camp - Directed by James Lebrecht and Nicole Newnham
Dick Johnson is Dead - Directed by Kirsten Johnson
I Am Greta - Directed by Nathan Grossman
John Lewis: Good Trouble - Directed by Dawn Porter
The Mole Agent - Directed by Maite Alberdi
My Octopus Teacher - Directed by James Reed and Pippa Ehrlich
The Social Dilemma - Directed by Jeff Orlowski
Time - Directed by Garrett Bradley
The Truffle Hunters - Directed by Michael Dweck and Greogry Kershaw

Acasa, My Home - Directed by Radu Ciorniciuc
The Earth is Blue as an Orange - Directed by Iryna Tsilyk
Jacinta - Directed by Jessica Earnshaw
Landfall - Directed by Cecilia Aldarondo
Mayor - Directed by David Osit
Through the Night - Directed by Loira Limbal

Bloody Nose, Empty Pockets - Directed by Bill Ross and Turner Ross
I Carry You With Me - Directed by Heidi Ewing
Never Rarely Sometimes Always - Directed by Eliza Hittman
Nomadland - Directed by Chloe Zhao
Ridge (Säsong) - Directed by John Skoog

The Unforgettables (Non-Competitive Honor)
Boys State - Stephen Garza and Rene Otero
Collective - Cătălin Tolontan
Crip Camp - Judith Heymann
Dick Johnson is Dead - Dick Johnson
Gunda - Gunda
I Am Greta - Greta Thunberg
John Lewis: Good Trouble - John Lewis
Mayor - Musa Hadid
The Mole Agent - Sergio Chamy
Mucho Mucho Amor - Walter Mercado
Softie - Boniface Mwangi
A Thousand Cuts - Maria Ressa
Through the Night - Delores “Nunu” Hogan
Time - Fox Richardson
Welcome to Chechnya - Olga Baranova and David Isteev

Back To Top