ASC Announces 2021 Awards Nominees

Cherry, Mank, News of the World, Nomadland and The Trial of the Chicago 7 selected in Feature Film category.

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced its nominees for feature film, documentary and television cinematography, representing the organization’s picks for the most compelling visual filmmaking over the past 14 months. Winners will be named during the 35th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards on April 18. The virtual ceremony will be live streamed via American Cinematographer’s Facebook at 12:30pm PDT from the historic ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood.  

The complete list of this year’s nominees are:

Feature Film
• Erik Messerschmidt, ASC for Mank
• Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC for The Trial of the Chicago 7
• Joshua James Richards for Nomadland
• Newton Thomas Sigel, ASC for Cherry
• Dariusz Wolski, ASC for News of the World

• Katelin Arizmendi for Swallow
• Aurélien Marra for Two of Us
• Andrey Naydenov for Dear Comrades!

• Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw for The Truffle Hunters

• Victor Kossakovsky and Egil Håskjold Larsen for Gunda 
• Gianfranco Rosi for Notturno

Motion Picture, Limited Series, or Pilot Made for Television
• Martin Ahlgren, ASC for The Plot Against America, “Part 6”
• Anette Haellmigk for The Great, “The Great”
• Pete Konczal for Fargo, “The Birthplace of Civilization”
• Steven Meizler for The Queen’s Gambit, “End Game”
• Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC for Watchmen, “This Extraordinary Being”

Episode of a One-Hour Television Series – Commercial
• Marshall Adams, ASC for Better Call Saul, “Bagman”
• Carlos Catalán for Killing Eve, “Meetings Have Biscuits”
• François Dagenais, CSC for Project Blue Book, “Area 51”
• Jon Joffin, ASC for Motherland: Fort Salem, “Up is Down”
• C. Kim Miles, ASC, CSC, MySC for Project Blue Book, “Operation Mainbrace”

Episode of a One-Hour Television Series – Non-Commercial
• David Franco for Perry Mason, “Chapter 2”
• Ken Glassing for Lucifer, “It Never Ends Well for the Chicken”
• Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC, BSC for The Crown, “Fairytale”
• David Greene, ASC, CSC for Impulse, “The Moroi”
• M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “It’s Comedy or Cabbage”
• Fabian Wagner, ASC, BSC for The Crown, “Imbroglio”

Episode of a Half-Hour Television Series
• Ava Berkofsky for Insecure, “Lowkey Lost”
• Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for The Mandalorian, “Chapter 1: The Mandalorian”
• Baz Idoine for The Mandalorian, “Chapter 13: The Jedi”
• Matthew Jensen, ASC for The Mandalorian, “Chapter 15: The Believer”
• Jas Shelton for Homecoming, “Giant”

Last year’s ASC feature film winner was Roger Deakins, CBE, ASC, BSC for 1917, who went on to win an Oscar for Best Achievement in Cinematography.            

The Spotlight Award recognizes exceptional cinematography in independent, foreign or art-house-type films. Jarin Blaschke won the ASC Award in 2020 for The Lighthouse and earned an Academy Award nomination for his work.

Inaugurated in 2020, the ASC Documentary Award went to Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma for Honeyland. The film received two Oscar nominations.

On April 18, you can watch the 35th Annual ASC Awards as it is streamed here via Facebook Live.

Also presented that evening will be Board of Governors Award honoree Sofia Coppola

Back To Top